Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Single Seater Racing > Formula One

Old 16 Jan 2006, 14:16 (Ref:1502383)   #1
Zoidberg
Rookie

Zoidberg should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
F1 back to Donington please!

What are the chances that F1 may one day return to Donington once work is complete there? Potential European GP host again?
Old 16 Jan 2006, 14:29 (Ref:1502391)   #2
Alex Hodgkinson
Veteran

England
Derby
Alex Hodgkinson should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
In the near future I'd say rather slim.
The current work that's going on is only on the main paddock & pitlane.
I'd say if they want F1 there they need to be doing a hell of a lot more work around the place, something that the powers that be don't seem to appreciate.

(ps. I work as a track marshall at Donington park when oppertunity gives, so I am in a position to comment)
Old 16 Jan 2006, 14:31 (Ref:1502392)   #3
kipper
Veteran

England
Leics
kipper should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridkipper should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I would imagine that there would only be a very slim chance of F1 returning to Donington. Even after its upgrades, I don't think that it will be quite up to F1 standard. Moreover, with a number of venues offering Bernie Ecclestone huge chunks of cash for a race, the chances of Britain being given two races would be very small, especially as the Nurburgring has a long term contract to stage the European Grand Prix. Therefore, Donington's only chance would be to grab Silverstone's place on the calender, which would appear unlikely given that it is in the early stages of a contract and is embarking on a facilities upgrade.
Old 16 Jan 2006, 14:44 (Ref:1502403)   #4
Stephen Green
Race Official
Veteran

England
Faversham, Kent