Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Motorsport Art & Photography

Old 28 Jun 2004, 21:14 (Ref:1019392)   #1
Logrence
Veteran

Wales
Logrence should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Photography hints/tips, etc

I'm a photography newbie - got an Eos 1000F for christmas and I want to play with it over the summer...

Firstly could anyone direct me to a good book/website I could use to explain to me all those fancy words so I can use the dial on my camera on anything other than the wee green box?!

Secondly, there are lots of sage photographers on here, and I was thinking perhaps you would all care to pass on your wisdom accrued over the years...?

I've not had a chance to take any motorsport-related pics yet, but this is my favourite so far, taken in Paris at New Year...
Attached Thumbnails
parischristmastree.jpg  
Old 29 Jun 2004, 16:44 (Ref:1020309)   #2
neil_davidson2
TT Photo Of The Year Winner - 2009 & 2010
Veteran

England
Swindon, UK
neil_davidson2 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the gridneil_davidson2 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Logrence, funny enough the best place to start is generally the Canon user manual - the ones I've had have usually had a pretty good description of the terminology that's used as well as the options that are available on the camera.

Generally I shoot in one of three modes:
1.TV=shutter priority Which means that you control the time that the shutter is open and exposing the film/chip and let the camera figure out the rest. So for fast subjects you might want a high shutter speed.
2. AV=Apeture Priority. Which means that you control the size of the iris in the lens which in turn controls the depth of field (the amount of the shot in focus). And leave the shutter speed to the camera.
3. Manual - set both Apeture and Shutter yourself to over-ride the camera.