Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Motorsport Art & Photography

Old 30 Oct 2003, 20:11 (Ref:768427)   #1
Duffacus
Veteran

United Kingdom
Nottingham, UK
Duffacus should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Motorsport photography

Hello,

I am a 15year old boy who is interested in motorsport, ive been to alot of race meetings and wonded how i could start a career in motorsport photography?

Id be interested in hearing your views,

thanks.

Brundle: Didn’t see too many in practice
Old 30 Oct 2003, 21:03 (Ref:768479)   #2
KC
Veteran

United States
Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
KC should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridKC should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Welcome Duffacus!

I am just getting into photography as more than my own hobby and interest as well. I covered the Southern Drag Boat Association this year for the Drag Boat Review and sold a few photos to the racers as well as made up promotional trading cards for a few of the teams. As I am attending the races as crew chief for a race team I have access to areas that spectators are not allowed and that helps.

I would suggest going to the local race tracks and shooting as much film as you can afford or as much digital as you can stand. Practice makes you better. Find out why your shots are not what you expect and learn how to correct them. A lot of that comes from knowing your camera and what its particular quirks are. A lot of people will spend thousands on specialized gear when you merely need competent gear to start out with. As you get better and outgrow your equipment then you can justify the pro quality camera body and expensive lenses. Too many aspiring shooters will spend a fortune and then be disappointed as their shots don't look like the magazine shots they are wanting. It is much more than just the equipment that makes the pro's shots look so good.

Do you already own any gear?