Jay
Veteran

United Nations
Canada
Jay should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Justin Wilson tests Champ car for Newman-Haas

From autosport.com
Quote:
British single-seater star Justin Wilson has completed his first test on an oval circuit in a Newman-Hass Champ Car at Homestead in Florida.

Last year's Formula 3000 champion completed 250 laps of the 1.5-mile circuit and said that he enjoyed the experience.

"I feel more confident now, having never driven on an oval before," Wilson told Autosport.com. "But I'm still learning. No two ovals are the same."

He suffered one spin during the test when he caught the apron on the inside of Turn 4. But he was able to control the Lola-Toyota and kept it out of the wall.

There is no indication as yet on Wilson being invited back for another test, or if he is a contender to join new signing Bruno Junqueira at the team next year.

The height problems that kept him out of a Minardi Formula 1 drive earlier this year were not an issue in the bigger Champ Car cockpit.
II don't think there's much you can get from this as the test was on an oval. He won the F3000 Championship though, so I assume if he came in he'd be at least reasonably competitive.
"I used to hate writing, but now I enjoy it. I realized that the purpose of writing is to inflate weak ideas, obscure poor reasoning, and inhibit clarity. With a little practice, writing can be an intimidating and impenetrable fog!" - Calvin and Hobbes
Old 9 Oct 2002, 23:40 (Ref:399820)   #2
f1manoz
Veteran

Australia
Lincolnshire, UK
f1manoz should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridf1manoz should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridf1manoz should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
Hope he gets a seat in CART. He's been trundling round in that Nissan series in Spain, but I think he's been downhearted after winning the F3000 series and not getting an F1 drive.