Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 28 Nov 2000, 23:52 (Ref:50218)   #1
Spitfire
Rookie

Spitfire should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
I'm using an Elise for track days and want to get some objective data about what I'm doing right and wrong. Might as well make the most of my track time!
My query is, can anyone recommend a good low-budget system that'll give me enough to improve - just want to beat the other guys by a bit more and prove it!
I've heard that Pi Research are introducing some budget systems soon - anybody know anything about them?
Old 3 Dec 2000, 12:37 (Ref:50900)   #2
redback
Racer

redback should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Hi Spitfire

I've been using PI systems for about eight years now. You should be able to pick up a system 1 fairly cheap. I like these because they are small, very easy to use and you don't need to replace your guages to use it. You can get a mini dash to fit on the steering wheel to give lap times, rpm, speed etc. There are plenty of systems with higher logging rates and fancy screens but if all you want is the basics (throttle, brake, rpm, speed, steering, lap times and shift light) this is, in my opinion, the way to go.

It won't tell you what your doing right or wrong but if you change something like either setup or driving style you can overlay your laps and see if it is better or worse.

I saw a PI web site a while ago. I hope this helps.
Old 3 Dec 2000, 23:28 (Ref:50997)   #3
Spitfire
Rookie

Spitfire should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Track day acquisition

Hi Redback,