Home  
Site Partners: SpotterGuides Veloce Books  
Related Sites: Your Link Here  

Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Saloon & Sportscar Racing > Sportscar & GT Racing > North American Racing

Old 8 Sep 2008, 16:30 (Ref:2284834)   #1
Lazy
Rookie

Germany
Lazy should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
ALMS safety car rules (newbie question)

I'm a noob what comes to modern sportscar racing and I have just started following ALMS seriously. But pitting rules under safety car are totally confusing for me. Can someone explain how it works? What is the difference to F1 for example?
Old 8 Sep 2008, 18:04 (Ref:2284910)   #2
HORNDAWG
Veteran

United States
Oregon
HORNDAWG should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridHORNDAWG should be qualifying in the top 5 on the gridHORNDAWG should be qualifying in the top 5 on the grid
The race is brought under control (full course flag), while at the same time the pits are closed (sometimes this is done first). The leader is picked up by the safety car and the field is qued, once this is accomplished then the pits are re-opened and the leader is the first car offered entry. You do not have to pit, when the cars that have pitted re-join the que then everyone ahead of the current race leader (which may have changed through the pit process) are waved around to the back of the que. Once that is accomplished, and any track matters taken care of, racing is resumed.
Hope that explains it for you!

L.P.
Old 9 Sep 2008, 02:33 (Ref:2285237)   #3
fjn356
Rookie

fjn356 should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
So does this mean that a lap may be gained by cars that do not pit and that also past pit exit prior to the now leading car? This is my understanding, but I must admit that I am often confused, especially after the 8th or so hour of a race. Thank you RLM, otherwise I would never know whats going on.
Old 9 Sep 2008, 03:36 (Ref:2285256)   #4
HORNDAWG
Veteran

United States
Oregon