Go Back   TenTenths Motorsport Forum > Racing Talk > Racing Technology

Old 14 Feb 2004, 15:35 (Ref:874178)   #1
Chris Griffin
Racer

England
Theale, Berkshire, UK
Chris Griffin should be qualifying in the top 10 on the grid
Ballast Resistors

Can anyone tell me what the ballast resistor does that sometimes comes with a battery master switch? We are close to finishing the prep on a GP1 Rover SD1 and I noticed that it has a ballast resistor fitted to the switch but one end has either been disconnected or has broken away.
Old 14 Feb 2004, 15:54 (Ref:874187)   #2
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England
Very edge of S E London almost in Kent
Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!Tim Falce is going for a new world record!
The other end goes to earth. I am not an electrician, but I think the wire earths the alternator to stop it producing power when the switch is turned off and the engine is running. The resistor is to stop it shorting out the fuses. But I am sure soemone with more knowledge will be along soon

Last edited by Tim Falce; 14 Feb 2004 at 15:56.
Old 14 Feb 2004, 15:59 (Ref:874191)   #3
Chris Griffin
Racer

England
Theale, Berkshire, UK
Thanks falcemob that rings a bell. But why are they not always present? Different alternator types maybe?
Old 14 Feb 2004, 16:13 (Ref:874196)   #4
imull
Veteran

imull has a lot of promise if they can keep it on the circuit!
The ballast resistor is something to do with back EMF I think. When you flick the isolator there is a power spike of some sort that can do some damage, the ballast resistor cuts this out...

(I think)
Old 14 Feb 2004, 16:26 (Ref:874198)   #5
Tim Falce
Race Official
Veteran

England